How Could I Have Doubted by Leonard Cohen

Earlier today, some mail arrived at the house and among letters was a box with my name on it. My heart jumped to my throat. I love surprises, but I suppose you know that already. It could have only come from you. When I saw that it was a Leonard Cohen book, oh, oh, oh— I had my hand on my heart.

Dear R: I think the world of you, darling. I think the universe.

How Could I Have Doubted
Leonard Cohen

I stopped looking for you
I stopped waiting for you
I stopped dying for you
and I started dying for myself
I aged rapidly
I became fat in the face
and soft in the gut
and I forgot that I’d ever loved you
I was old
I had no focus, no mission
I wandered around eating and buying
bigger and bigger clothes
and I forgot why I hated
every long moment that was mine to fill
Why did you come back to me tonight
I can’t even get off this chair
Tears run down my cheeks
I am in love again
I can live like this

Leave a Reply

