Give by Simon Armitage

And then one day, if I love again:

Give
Simon Armitage

Of all the public places, dear
to make a scene, I’ve chosen here.

Of all the doorways in the world
to choose to sleep, I’ve chosen yours.
I’m on the street, under the stars.

For coppers I can dance or sing.
For silver-swallow swords, eat fire.
For gold-escape from locks and chains.

It’s not as if I’m holding out
for frankincense or myrrh, just change.

You give me tea. That’s big of you.
I’m on my knees. I beg of you.

11 Comments

  1. This is such a beautiful poem, if anyone wants to hear simon talk about this poem, bbc learning zone, clip number 13453, its a wonderful clip. I adore this poem

  2. i really like this poem and for my GCSE creative writing essay i chose to do on this poem i like the fact that the character isnt really known and the reader isnt really told much in the poem but the fact that it is about a homeless person who is holding out for change!

Leave a Reply

