The Letter by Linda Gregg

It is peaceful here. I have a big window. The sky is endless. In a few hours the sun will rise and its beauty will break my heart. And then the light will wash over everything, and it will be alright.

The Letter
Linda Gregg

I’m not feeling strong yet, but I am taking
good care of myself. The weather is perfect.
I read and walk all day and then walk to the sea.
I expect to swim soon. For now I am content.
I am not sure what I hope for. I feel I am
doing my best. It reminds me of when I was
sixteen dreaming of Lorca, the gentle trees outside
and the creek. Perhaps poetry replaces something
in me that others receive more naturally.
Perhaps my happiness proves a weakness in my life.
Even my failures in poetry please me.
Time is very different here. It is very good
to be away from public ambition.
I sweep and wash, cook and shop.
Sometimes I go into town in the evening
and have pastry with custard. Sometimes I sit
at a table by the harbor and drink half a beer.

This is from The Sacraments of Desire by Linda Gregg, published by Graywolf Press, 1995.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

